The Oriental Eastern Orthodox Churches

A major divide emerged between the Eastern Orthodox/Western Catholic Churches, and the Oriental Eastern Orthodox Churches following the writing of the Chalcedon Creed. The Oriental Eastern Orthodox today includes the Egyptian Coptic Church, the Ethiopian Church, the Syraic Orthodox Church, the Indian Church, and the Armenian Church. The Oriental Eastern Orthodox Churches strongly denies that it believes in the Monophysite teaching of Eutyches and prefers to be called Miaphysites. Although Christological misunderstandings divided the early church following the Chalcedon Ecumenical Church Council in 451, today there are significant steps being taken toward church unity.